F1 Austrian GP 2022: Schedule, watch practice, qualifying, sprint, race on TV and online

0

Austrian GP 2022 Schedule watch practice qualifying sprint race on TV and online

After an absolute thriller at Silverstone, it’s straight to another classic venue to try and continue that momentum as the season reaches its halfway stage, so here are some of the topics we’re looking forward to as the teams head for the Red Bull Ring.

World championship leader Max Verstappen will be looking to bounce back after an off weekend at Silverstone, when Formula 1 heads to the Austrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring.

The Dutchman had to settle for seventh place last time out as Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz took his first career victory. However, Verstappen, who holds a 34-point lead over teammate Sergio Perez in the standings, will be keen to get his title defence back on track at a circuit he dominated at last season.

This weekend will see the second sprint event of the season take place, meaning the weekend format will be different.

There will be a 100km race on Saturday to set the grid for Sunday’s Austrian Grand Prix. Eight points are on offer for the winner of the sprint, with the top eight finishers also scoring points.

The first sprint of the season was won by Verstappen at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, with the Dutchman also going on to take the chequered flag in Sunday’s race as well.

Austrian Grand Prix 2022
Austrian Grand Prix 2022

How and where to watch the 2022 F1 Austrian Grand Prix on TV and online

As always, you can follow the F1 Austrian GP through MARCA In English.

As for watching it on TV, viewers in the United States of America can watch Saturday’s sprint race and the main Grand Prix live on ESPN2. American viewers will be able to see all of Friday’s action including first practice and qualifying on ESPNU, with Saturday’s second practice session being shown on ESPN2.

Elsewhere, Sky Sports are the official broadcaster in the UK, while DAZN have the coverage in Spain, meaning you can stream the F1 action this weekend.

The full F1 Austrian GP 2022 schedule

Friday July 8, 2022

Free Practice 1: 13:30 – 14:30 CEST / 07:30 – 08:30 ET

Qualifying: 17:00 – 18:00 CEST / 11:00 – 12:00 ET

Saturday July 9, 2022

Free Practice 2: 12:30 – 13:30 CEST / 06:30 – 07:30 ET

Sprint race: 16:30 CEST / 10:30 ET (28 laps)

Sunday July 10, 2022

Race: 15:00 CEST / 09:00 ET (71 laps)

How can I watch the F1 Austrian GP?

Channel: Sky Sports F1 HD and Sky Sports Main Event HD
Channel numbers – Sky: 406 and 401
Channel numbers – Virgin Media: 506 and 501

Sky Sports has live and exclusive broadcasting rights in the United Kingdom, with the build-up to the F1 Austrian GP race starting from 12:30pm on Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports Main Event, ahead of lights out at 2:00pm.

When can I watch the F1 Austrian GP highlights?

Channel: Channel 4
Start time: Qualifying and sprint race – 5:30pm Saturday, Race – 6:30pm Sunday

Channel 4 has the rights to show the Austrian GP highlights of qualifying and the race.

Will the F1 Austrian GP be on the radio?

Live radio coverage of every practice, qualifying and race for the 2022 F1 season will be available on the BBC Radio 5 Live and 5 Live Sports Extra stations or via the BBC Sport website.

Coverage of the Austrian GP will start at 1:50pm BST on BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds app.

Weather forecast for the Austrian GP

The Red Bull Ring is set for mixed conditions throughout the race weekend, with rain showers forecast for Sunday, before staying dry and warm on Friday and Saturday. Highs of 23 degrees Celsius are predicted on Sunday for the start of the race, two degrees warmer than the British GP last time out.

Most F1 Austrian GP wins

Max Verstappen: 3 wins (2018, 2019, 2021)*
Alain Prost: 3 wins (1983, 1985, 1986)

*Max Verstappen also won the 2021 Styrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring.

Credits: Marca

Leave A Reply