FP2: Ocon leads Perez, Russell in final practice at Interlagos


FP2 Ocon leads Perez, Russell in final practice at Brazilian GP 2022

Esteban Ocon led the way in the second and final practice session of the Sao Paulo Grand Prix, topping the timesheets before today’s F1 Sprint.


Ocon clocked a time of 1m 14.604s to lead Sergio Perez, who was in P2 by 0.184s, with the Mercedes of George Russell going third quickest in the session.

This was the second of two 60-minute practice sessions in Brazil, with teams using the first part of Saturday’s running to evaluate the tyres they will use for Saturday evening’s Sprint and Sunday’s Sao Paulo Grand Prix.

Ocon’s team mate Fernando Alonso was fourth fastest ahead of Max Verstappen in fifth, Lewis Hamilton in sixth, and the AlphaTauri of Pierre Gasly in seventh.

Kevin Magnussen F1
Kevin Magnussen F1

Haas picked up from Friday with another strong showing in FP2, with Mick Schumacher in eighth ahead of team mate Kevin Magnussen – who yesterday took his maiden pole position – in ninth.

McLaren’s Lando Norris rounded out the top-10 ahead of Carlos Sainz – who has a five-place grid penalty for tomorrow’s Grand Prix after taking his sixth internal combustion engine of the season – and the other AlphaTauri of Yuki Tsunoda in 12th.

The second Ferrari of Charles Leclerc was 13th ahead of Daniel Ricciardo in 14th, with last year’s Sao Paulo Sprint winner, Valtteri Bottas, in 15th for Alfa Romeo.

Nicholas Latifi – who went straight off into the grass at Turn 12 to briefly bring out yellow flags – was down in 16th, ahead of the Aston Martin duo of Lance Stroll and Sebastian Vettel, in 17th and 18th, respectively.

Zhou Guanyu was 19th for Alfa Romeo while Logan Sargeant – taking over from Alex Albon at Williams for the session – finished in 20th, although with 28 laps he gained an extra point on his Super Licence.


1 31 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 1:14.604 28
2 11 Sergio Perez RED BULL RACING RBPT 1:14.788 +0.184s 36
3 63 George Russell MERCEDES 1:14.916 +0.312s 31
4 14 Fernando Alonso ALPINE RENAULT 1:15.049 +0.445s 29
5 1 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING RBPT 1:15.098 +0.494s 30
6 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 1:15.137 +0.533s 33
7 10 Pierre Gasly ALPHATAURI RBPT 1:15.636 +1.032s 32
8 47 Mick Schumacher HAAS FERRARI 1:15.684 +1.080s 40
9 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 1:15.815 +1.211s 38
10 4 Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES 1:15.851 +1.247s 25
11 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 1:15.856 +1.252s 38
12 22 Yuki Tsunoda ALPHATAURI RBPT 1:15.865 +1.261s 32
13 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 1:15.868 +1.264s 37
14 3 Daniel Ricciardo MCLAREN MERCEDES 1:15.994 +1.390s 28
15 77 Valtteri Bottas ALFA ROMEO FERRARI 1:16.047 +1.443s 34
16 6 Nicholas Latifi WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:16.181 +1.577s 34
17 18 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 1:16.263 +1.659s 43
18 5 Sebastian Vettel ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 1:16.400 +1.796s 44
19 24 Zhou Guanyu ALFA ROMEO FERRARI 1:16.468 +1.864s 37
20 45 Logan Sargeant WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:16.480 +1.876s 28

Leave A Reply